Sunday, June 27, 2010

Revenge for 1966: Gemany Eliminates England

44 years ago England was awarded a goal in the 1966 World Cup Finals over Germany, the referee erroneously thinking the ball crossed the line. As a result, England went on to win 4-2.

44 years later, England was not awarded a goal in the 2010 World Cup Second Round against Germany despite the fact that the ball clearly crossed the line. It would have made the score 2-2 and allowed for a different second half which saw Germany dismantle England, eliminating them 4-1.

In this case, history doesn't repeat, it avenges.

No comments: